Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

RUEagle

85 Wants to be dealt b4 draft

http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=3349761

Bengals wide receiver Chad Johnson left no room for doubt Wednesday: He wants out of Cincinnati as fast as possible and he doesn't plan on reporting for any future Bengal function -- mandatory or voluntary.

What spurred Johnson's immediate reaction was a statement made by quarterback Carson Palmer that indicated Johnson had told Palmer he would be at the team's mandatory minicamp in mid-June. Johnson said that wasn't true.

"I want to make this very clear,'' Johnson said Wednesday. "I don't know where he got that. I made no assertion to Carson that I would do that. Nothing has changed from what I've been saying for three months that I don't want to play for the Bengals.''

Johnson made one of his strongest statements in saying he is not planning on reporting to any team functions because he wants to be traded.

"I want to be traded before the draft, and if that doesn't happen, I want to be traded as soon as possible,'' Johnson said. "I don't intend on reporting to anything.''

Johnson is skipping the team's offseason workouts as he tries to push for a trade. But the Bengals have also made it clear that they have no plans of trading him.

The Pro Bowl wide receiver said he was surprised by Palmer's comments about his possibly reporting to mandatory camp.

"I wish he would stay out of my business,'' Johnson said.

John Clayton is a senior NFL writer for ESPN.com

Espn beats another story to death. :rolleyes: It's like when they added a whole bar on their ticker for the Patriots last year for the last ten weeks of the season. They keep you sucked in.

What is funny is they act like Johnson demands to be traded draft night and then he says "and if they don't trade me draft night, I want to be traded as soon as possible" (didn't he say that two months ago that he wanted to be traded as soon as possible?).